The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is a nationally recognised scheme that we would encourage all students to consider. At the moment the Gold Award has become really popular with students (about 50 students in each year take part) but you can access the Silver Award if you prefer. You don’t need to have completed the Bronze Award to access the scheme. The main features of the scheme are volunteering, learning new skills, and an expedition. All aspects of the award develop a wide range of desirable skills and is therefore the reason this scheme has lasted the test of time.

There are three levels of the Award; Bronze, Silver and Gold.  At each level young people choose activities from all three sections –

  • Volunteering
  • Skills
  • Physical
  • There is also the expedition to complete.

Participation in the Award leads to personal development through the acquisition of:

  •  Qualities – Self motivation, commitment, self-awareness, initiative, persistence, self-discipline and responsibility for both themselves and their community.
  • Key Skills – Working with others, communication, problem solving

You can find out more about The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award by visiting their website here

Useful information and downloads

Activity Logs

Bitesize Planners

Assessor Reports